STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA
COUNTY OF MCDOWELL COUNTY
BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
ADJOURNED SESSION-FIRE COMMISSION – JUNE 28, 2018

ASSEMBLY

The McDowell County Board of Commissioners met in an Adjourned Session on Thursday, June 28, 2018, at 6:00 p.m., at the 911 Backup Center.

MEMBERS PRESENT

David N. Walker, Chair; Barry McPeters, Vice-Chair; Tony Brown, Lynn Greene and Brenda Vaughn

MEMBERS ABSENT

None

OTHERS PRESENT

Ashley Wooten, County Manager; Cheryl Mitchell, Clerk to the Board

CALL TO ORDER

Chief Brad Ledbetter, Chair of the Fire Commission, called the meeting to order, and asked each department to give an update of their department.

The following departments gave a brief update:

Ashford-North Cove Fire Department
Glenwood Fire Department
Hankins North Fork Fire Department
Marion Fire Department
Nebo Fire Department
Old Fort Fire Department
PG Fire Department
Sugar Hill Fire Department
Woodlawn Fire Department
McDowell Rescue
Emergency Management

The following departments were not present:

Crooked Creek Fire Department Dysartsville Fire Department

Chair Walker expressed his appreciation for the dedication of the firemen and rescue personnel, and the great job they do. He added the Board is looking to build a new EMS facility in 2020 on the Barnes Road property, and could also build a training site for the fire departments to use.

Each Commissioner and Mr. Wooten voiced their appreciation for the work and collaboration of the departments, and also the work that was done during the flood events.

Mr. Kehler noted there were 800 calls fielded during the historic flood event, and there were no fatalities. He thanked everyone for their service.	
DAVID N. WALKER	CHERYL L. MITCHELL
CHAIRMAN	CLERK TO THE BOARD